top of page
  • Writer's pictureMs. Lee

3 simple tips to stand out on LinkedIn





Over the past seven years on LinkedIn, I have:

  • received over fifty job interview requests.

  • pivoted into a new industry while continuing to advance my career and my net worth.

  • helped dozens of professionals land new jobs without submitting a job application.


This taught me a lot about what works on LinkedIn, and what doesn’t.


These are my three simple tips for standing out on LinkedIn:


1. Be of service.

Your profile is not about you. Your profile is about how you can serve others.

Example: ❌ “I’m a project manager with five years of experience.” ✅ “Seventy-five percent of my client’s projects were completed under budget.”


2. Be clear.

Use simple language and be straightforward. Simple writing isn’t simple-minded.

Example: ❌ “Renegade recruiter.” ✅ “I specialize in finding talent for start-up financial tech companies.”

3. Be obvious.

Resist the urge to put too much stuff out there. More isn’t better, more is confusing.

Example: ❌ Project leader | Curriculum writer | Transitioning teacher | Passionate about education ✅ Project leader for non-profit organizations with a student-centered mission.


Your LinkedIn profile isn't a one and done. Treat it like an experiment; keep what works and tweak what doesn't.


Are you or someone you know looking for guidance on LinkedIn?


 

For those who don't feel at home anywhere.

I didn't expect this to happen at an espresso bar in Belgium.


The barista asked me if I was from the U.S. Surprised, I said "Yes, how did you know?"


He responded, "Your accent."


That's the first time someone saw me with their ears rather than their eyes.


If you felt this, then you might like this article I wrote Stop Asking Me Where I'm From.




 

For a fun fiction read.

A fun read that's perfect for long train rides or snuggled under the covers: Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus

📚 What are you reading lately?



 

Did you find this blog post helpful? Then sign up for my free email newsletter.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page